Book: River Marked, Frost Burned, and Night Broken by Patricia Briggs
Genre: Urban fantasy
Publication date: 2011, 2013, 2014

Source: Purchased as e-books

Night Broken

Book #8 in the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs

Summary: River Marked, Frost Burned, and Night Broken are books number 6, 7, and 8 in Patricia Briggs’ series featuring Mercy Thompson, auto mechanic and coyote shape-shifter. Mercy was raised by werewolves because her human mother didn’t know what to do with a coyote pup. Her world gets more interesting with each book in the series as she acquires friends and enemies among vampires, fae, and more other-worldly creatures.

Thoughts: Of these three, I liked River Marked best because it deepened our understanding of the mythology of this world. The next two books build on that new knowledge so I feel like these books took a leap forward in the complex world-building of this story.

Appeal: This is a terrific series for urban fantasy fans. I recommend beginning from the first book. Patricia Briggs’ website has a page of her books by series and in order.

What's in a Name Challenge 2015

Challenges: The title River Marked gives me another book for the 2015 What’s In a Name Challenge — a body of water.

Have you read any of the Mercy Thompson books? What did you think?

Signature of Joy Weese Moll


Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs #BookReview — 2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *