Top Ten TuesdayThis week’sย Top Ten Tuesday topic at The Broke and The Bookish: Top Ten Books if you like X, where I get to determine X. So, I’m going with X = British TV.

If you like Merlin, I recommend the Merlin trilogy by Mary Stewart. I read these in high school and they gave me a life-long fascination with stories about Arthur and his wizard.

1. The Crystal Cave
2. The Hollow Hills
3. The Last Enchantment

If you like Foyle’s War or Land Girls, you might also like books set during World War II in Great Britain. Two of my favorite ones are:

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

World War II novel set in Great Britain and France

4.ย Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
5. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society byย Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

Those two books will work well if you like Bletchley Circle, too, but you might also like:

6.ย Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson (which I haven’t yet read, but want to)

This next one is an an off-the-wall sci-fi choice that isn’t set in Great Britain, but try:

7. Cress by Marissa Meyer because the title character is skilled with patterns, codes, and computers, so she reminds me of the characters in Bletchley Circle.

If you like Torchwood, you might get a kick out of John Barrowman’s two biographies:

8. Anything Goes
9. I Am What I Am

And, don’t miss the collection of scholarly essays (I kid you not) about Torchwood:

10. Illuminating Torchwood, edited by Andrew Ireland

Do you have books to add to this list?

Besides Top 10 Tuesday, I’ll link this post to British Isles Friday this week.

Signature of Joy Weese Moll


Comments

Top Ten Books if you like British TV #Top10Tuesday — 11 Comments

  1. I loved Code Name Verity and just read the follow up Rose Under Fire and really liked that one too

  2. I am definitely a Torchwood fan, but it would not have occurred to me to read John Barrowman’s biographies! I might have to check those out. ๐Ÿ™‚ I loved Code Name Verity as well, and I’ve always meant to read the Mary Stewart books. Nice list!

  3. Nice recommendations! I’m a big fan of British t.v so I loved seeing your recommendation, most of which are new to me. I do have Code Name Verity on my reading list though – I’ve heard so many awesome things about it.

  4. I recommended Stewart’s series to my daughter-in-law and she loved them. I tried to watch Merlin but had no patience for it. I enjoyed the short-lived Camelot much more.

  5. I recently read Below Stairs–it’s a memoir about a domestic servant in British upperclass houses in the 1920s. It ended up inspiring some of Downton Abbey. It was very interesting and illuminating. (Here’s my review for more thoughts.) I would love to read Cryptonomicon. I visited Bletchley Park and found it fascinating!

  6. Great selection. I loved Torchwood on tv so would like to take a look at the book you mention. Have you by any chance read any of the books written by John Barrowman and his sister? If not I can recommend Hollow Earth and Bone Quill.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *